SAVE THE ROBOTS… SAVE THE ROBOTS… SAVE THE ROBOTS … NOW! um… it’s a musical … and it’s at MITF

save-robotsSAVE THE ROBOTS by Jacques Lamarre, Clark Render and Rob Susman, lyrics by Clark Render, music by Rob Susman and Hagatha, directed by David Rigano; starring Matthew Dyer, Kaila Galinat, Olivia Hoffman, Alexander Kass, Lindsay Lavin, and Sandra Lee. The Earth is being menaced by a government controlled by an evil corporation that may, or may not, be under the influence of cannibal alien forces.  Can a narcissistic professor, a sexy scientist and their robot clones save the planet from certain doom? (Sci Fi Musical Comedy) Performance Schedule: Tues 11/15, 6:00pm; Thurs 11/17, 7:30pm; Sat 11/19, 1:45pm

Jacques Lamarre says a few words on saving robots…

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

I mainly write comedies, so I am drawn to things that are silly, dangerous, and just plain stupid. I guess I just admitted that Donald Trump is my muse. 

Tell us about why you wrote this.  

I was approached by a team that had been working for years to use the music of legendary New York New Wave-punk band Hagatha into a show entitled SAVE THE ROBOTS, which was a notorious after-hours underground club. They wanted to use the spacey lyrics and synth sounds to create a cult sci-fi musical comedy. My love of the 1980s and camp films made this a perfect project for me. Why is it important to become a musical? It isn’t, but it’s hella fun.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

I think all playwrights want to see their work onstage. I also want to hear the audience laugh and respond. Finally, I want to get free drinks at the cast party.

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

No, I can do a lot more. Wish I could baton twirl, though.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

I’m already doing it. I work in events and marketing. I could also try my hand (or other body parts) at being a low-wage sex worker.

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

As being skinnier than I am.

Last words? 

Taco platter, please.

autumn-2016-mitf

 

One comment

Leave a comment