MITF AUTUMN ARTS INTERVIEWS: David De Almo

david-2

MITF AUTUMN ARTS INTERVIEWS: David De Almo
October 26 – November 20, 2016
The Jewel Box @ The Workshop 312 W 36th Street, NYC
www.midtownfestival.org

Performing Tues 11/01, 9:00pm

 

David De Almo: David De Almo is Occasionally Employed by David De Almo, directed by Max Friedman; starring David De Almo. From a Lortel Award-Winning producer of Mike Birbiglia’s “My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend” and “Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King,” and the star of that “Monsters Inside Me” episode where that amoeba eats that girl’s brain, comes the unlikely story of a data analyst who gave up comfort in suburbia to become a Theatrical Producer overnight. (Comedy/One Man Story Telling) *AEA


We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

I’m inspired constantly by the guys whose shows I produce.  Mike Birbiglia, Colin Quinn, most recently Chris Gethard – It’s impossible to be around these guys every day and not want to go home and write.

Tell us about why you wrote this?

I wrote it as a challenge to myself, to see if I could self-produce something and follow it all the way to fruition, but I think it’s important enough to keep working with because of people’s reaction to it so far.  People really enjoy listening to stories about my colossal failures along the way.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

I want it to be my only job, and I think most artists would agree with me.  It’s a special person (or a person with extraordinary means) who can say it’s about prestige or furthering art or winning awards.  Of course every artist would like those things, but for me, it’s about making enough money from these projects that it can be my sole undertaking.  I’ve done day jobs before – it’s not a sustainable lifestyle for an artist.

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

That’s tough.  there’s a lot of things I could do, but nothing that would make me nearly as happy as I am when I’m on stage or behind the scenes, creating.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

I’d probably have been a history professor, languishing in an adjunct position because the tenure system is broken.  I have lofty dreams.

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

History aside, I’d like to make an impact on just a few people.  I did a show the other day and I talked about how expensive food is in the city but you put up with it because your friends like the frozen margaritas at blockheads and you don’t wanna be left out, so you buy the stupid expensive burritos.  And an audience member came up to me and said that really resonated with them.  And I was like…it’s a burrito joke.  But as long as someone leaves my show with something that resonated, I’m happy.  One of my favorite Broadway shows is called “Title of Show,” and there’s a line that says “I’d rather be nine people’s favorite thing, than a hundred people’s ninth favorite thing.”  That totally governs what I do.

Last words?

I’d like people to come see the show so they can laugh at my pain, and ultimately, so that I can keep doing it!

autumn-2016-mitf

 

One thought on “MITF AUTUMN ARTS INTERVIEWS: David De Almo

Leave a Reply

